I. GIVE. UP!!!!!


20111217-182714.jpg

Something happened today that led me to think about the last 2 years of my life. In the end, I was left with the sour thought of how rough this season has been. Two years is a good chunk of time when you’re going through a rough patch.

In the midst of the frustration, my foremost desire was to quit. I’m not sure what exactly I’d quit, but the feeling of giving up was the primary one.

I’m just tired of things not working out… and when you make a step, you get knocked two steps back… and things never seem to be going anywhere… you’re seemingly stuck in a rut and you can’t shake it.

I needed some solo time. The truth is that I barely have strength left.

In my moment of solitude, I heard a prayer through song.

God I look to You
I won’t be overwhelmed
Give me vision to see things like You do
God I look to You
You’re where my help comes from
Give me wisdom, You know just what to do

I will love You Lord my strength
And I will love you Lord my shield
And I will love You Lord my rock
Forever all my days I will love you God

Hallelujah our God reigns
Hallelujah our God reigns
Hallelujah our God reigns
Forever all my days Hallelujah

The truth is that I have my own perception of what I’m going through. I know that God knows what lies ahead. Only He can see my future. I need His vision. I want to see things through Your eyes, Lord.

The progression of that prayer is first an acknowledgement that something is happening that we can’t see with our own eyes. We pray for vision and wisdom, and even while we don’t see or know what lies ahead, we lavish our Creator with love.

One thought on “I. GIVE. UP!!!!!

  1. newmercees

    Wow! Thanks for sharing! We moved at the same time you & erica did. Our experience has been the same. We continue to trust God. This is exactly how I feel at times. Praying for you.
    Sincerely,
    Nicolle

    Reply

Leave a Reply

