I Got A Job


I have gotten word back from one of the two jobs I’m in process with.  I’m still waiting to hear back from the other opportunity.

It’s [pretty much] official.  I am the choice for the position with Alpha USA in Northern NJ.  Here are some details on the organization, my role, and finishes processes.

Alpha USA is the organization in the US behind the Alpha Course.  If you’ve heard of the Alpha Course, then great.  If not, it’s essentially an evangelism tool that has spread to impact non-believers and believers alike.  From their website,

“Alpha is an opportunity to explore the meaning of life in a relaxed, friendly setting. The Alpha course usually meets once per week for 10 weeks, and includes an amazing one-day or weekend getaway. Each session, people enjoy great food, laughter and learning in a fun and friendly atmosphere where no question about life or God is seen as too simple or too hostile…questions like—Is there a God? Why am I here? Where did I come from? Where am I going?”

It is a way to explore Jesus that [for non-believers] does not force them to sit through a sermon at church.  It’s a great atmosphere.  It works.

Alpha was developed in the UK.  It wasn’t brought to the US until about 1996.  It is ‘huge’ in Minnesota.  Unfortunately, the context of mainstream American Culture is not the same as UK, Canada, or other parts of the words.  Due to this, Alpha has had it’s fair share of challenges here.

My Role

The specific role/position I will be fulfilling is that of Regional Director for the Northern New Jersey region.  The role is new.  The organizational format was just changed to this.  The position will oversee the churches that currently run the Alpha Course.  This includes helping with any bumps they have and resourcing them as best as we can.  Additionally, my role will be a heavy networking role in which I will prayerfully seek out new churches/organizations/locations to facilitate more Alpha Courses.  Lastly, it is also a fundraising role.  I, along with the regional leadership team, will be responsible for raising funds for the region (including my salary).  There is not an Alpha office in NJ.  My role will be working from home, the church, or on the road.

Process

Thankfully, Alpha USA is a supporting organization.  They will essentially fund my salary and regional needs until a time in which we’re up on our own.  In this way, it’s similar to a church plant having the backing of a church body.

From the months of May – July, I will be on a part-time basis (actually, 25-30 hours/week).  I will not be salaried at this time.  I will be hourly.  This is a time where I can focus on training, developing a strategic plan, and establishing the infrastructure that I’ll be using come August.  Once August arrives, I will be shifting from being a “passenger” on the “Alpha bus” in regards to the North NJ region, to being the “driver” and setting forth the route to take.

Exciting Opportunity

This is an exciting opportunity that will allow me to use my gifts in development, organization, relating and arranging.  God is GOOD.

Leave a Reply

